Listen to your body

I used to freak out about my weird circadian rhythms.  There used to be a lot of laying in bed wide awake wondering when I would get to sleep.  Finally one of my doctors said, “Maybe that’s just you.  You’re an artist who doesn’t need much sleep.”  

Then he told me this story of a guy who went to go meditate with the monks for three months.  They had him do a sitting meditation (ouch).  The monks would feed him.  They had his breathing, heartbeat, and brainwaves monitored.  He was really only getting like three hours of sleep each night of the three months.

So this wasn’t really meant to be advice, but if I wake up in the middle of the night wide awake (as I usually do) I’m going to get some work done.  Maybe you need more sleep and that’s cool too.  Listen to what your body needs.  I think that’s the best advice I got.

Leave a Reply

